[2014]

社會改革如何能消弭抗議人士的不滿?

        支持「佔領」的人士須認識到︰政制改革對於社會和經濟問題—他們不滿情緒的主要成因—並無必然的幫助。全球化這經濟趨勢,不斷拉大已發展經濟內的個人收入差距。雪上加霜的是香港地少人多,令樓價高企。不論是陳舊的不干預主義還是傳統的民粹型慷慨,都解決不了這些問題。

社會應該,也有能力作出充份的補救︰三個現有制度—綜合社會保障援助、資助房屋與最低工資—應重塑為一個完備的收入補貼機制,以保障社會上起碼的生活水平。此保障水平包含了以市價計算的住屋水平;因此,補貼將讓全民都買得起樓。

保障生活水平可量化為全港住戶中位收入的某個百分比。適用於個別住戶的水平視乎該住戶成員的人數、年齡、殘疾情況、工資收入等。改革將主要提高低收入在職家庭及長者的生活水準。制度同時能鼓勵人上進;例如可以︰住戶的工資收入每增加100元,只減少其補貼40元,即住戶的保障生活水平上升了60元。

補貼額即住戶本身收入低於其保障生活水平的不足之數。由於每戶的補貼恰恰等如其不敷之需,以補貼取代公營房屋將節省公帑;加上政府不用建屋,卻增加售地,同時現存的公屋單位將以市值出租及出售,因此改革雖然向最有需要者增加補貼,但反而衍生可觀的財政盈餘

「佔領」顯示上述改革已有迫切的需要。日後,政府還須致力於經濟癹展,以改善年青人的前途。不過,比起政治和社會方案,經濟方案或更困難和不確定。
 

公共財政 [2008] | 社會保障 [2008] | 房屋 [2012] | 海港環境 [2008]
| 經濟競爭力
[2003] | 醫療融資 [2008] | 選舉機制 [2010]

[2014]

How can social reforms resolve the grievances at the root of the protests?

        Occupy protesters should realize that political solutions would not necessarily help to cure the social and economic ills that bred their discontent.  Globalization, a continuing trend, has caused high income disparity in various developed economies as well as here, and scarcity of land, high local property prices.  Neither outdated laissez-fairism nor traditional liberal largesse offers adequate solutions.

Society should and can provide the remedy.  Three current schemes – Comprehensive Social Security Assistance, subsidized housing and minimum wage – should be remodelled into an expanded system of payments of income supplements, so as to maintain a socially protected, minimum standard of living.  The standard incorporates a housing standard valued at market prices; hence, with the supplements, all will be able to afford buying their home. 

The socially protected standard of living will be expressed as a percentage of the median household income.  The percentage applicable to each household would depend on the number, ages, disabilities etc., as well as earned incomes, of the household’s members.  Low-income working and elderly households will especially gain in living standard.  Yet incentive for self-advancement is maintained.  For every $100 increase in earned income, the supplement might reduce by only, say, $40, so that the household’s protected standard of living rises by $60. 

The amount of supplement is the shortfall of the household’s earned income from its socially protected living standard.  As subsidies to individual households will exactly match their needs (i.e. income shortfalls), replacing subsidized housing with income supplements would save public funds.  Moreover, the government will no longer build housing, but will sell more land; it will also sell or let existing public rental housing units at market prices/rents.  Thus, despite the increase in subsidies for the most needy, a substantial net surplus would accrue to the Treasury

The Occupy movement shows that the above reforms are needed urgently.  Later, the government can focus on economic development, so that young people have better job prospects.  An economic solution, however, may prove more elusive than the political and social ones.

See also the full article, Post-Occupy political and socual solutions


Competitiveness [2003] | Elections [2014] | Harbourfront [2008] | Healthcare [2008]
|
Housing [2011]| Public finance [2008] | Social security [2014]